A Good Song for Friday: “Devil’s in the Jukebox”

The attendees at the Ray LaMontagne & The Pariah Dogs concert I attended on Wednesday were predominantly 20- and 30-somethings. But there was a much older couple seated right in front of me. They sang along with all the words and cheered when their favorite songs came up. My favorite moment in the show was when the man elbowed the woman during “Trouble” at the point where LaMontagne crooned, “I’ve been saved by a woman,” and she grinned and blushed.

When I’m old I want to be like that couple: still loving life and each other, and still curious about good, new music.

My favorite song from the set was “Devil’s in the Jukebox” from his latest album, God Willin’ & the Creek Don’t Rise. Sounding like a lost song from Blood on the Tracks, his live version of it sounded even better than the album version. I most love the verse that says:

Mama ’bout to throw a few tomatoes on the griddle
Kick off your shoes and set a little

This entry was posted in Experiences, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

