A Good Song for Friday: “Charley Patton Songs”

This song possesses some quality – jangly, halting, jumping back and forth between keys and rhythms – that puts it on the verge of musical collapse in places. And yet it is a truly and beautifully polished piece, one that I keep coming back to again and again.

It means even more to me because I first heard it in a record store in Auckland, playing over the PA system. I approached a clerk to ask who it was. “Gomez, from Britain” he said. And hearing those jarringly familiar place names – New York, Chicago, New Orleans, Detroit, Los Angeles, Louisville – listed that way made me realize how much I missed and longed for my homeland. If that seems overly patriotic or sentimental to you, all I can say is, yes, it does to me at the moment as well. But try living in Ha’apai for two years, hear this song, and then we’ll talk.

This entry was posted in Experiences, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

