We would lie in the fields that we mowed: or, How my wife improved a Langhorne Slim song

I heard my wife singing the Langhorne Slim song, “So Glad I’m Coming Home” and noticed she was singing the line “We would lie in the fields and we’d moan” as “We would lie in the fields that we mowed.”  I started teasing her that she had heard it wrong until I realized she had made a stunningly evocative improvement to the song.

The song is about rediscovering the simple pleasures of home and sobriety. That phrase about the fields happens to come at the most climatic moment of the song, both musically and lyrically. The music builds and the singer wails,

Life’s inconsistent, and we ain’t the same/ Though it’s reminiscent of the old happy days/ We would lie in the fields [that we mowed]/ I’m so glad that I’m coming home.

I liked the song before, but with my wife’s evocative new image of the profound pleasure of working and relaxing and being together, I’m listening to it again. And I have a knot in my throat for the old happy days that, for me, are these happy days.

I’m unable to embed it, but you can hear the song here.

This entry was posted in Experiences, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We would lie in the fields that we mowed: or, How my wife improved a Langhorne Slim song

  1. Stephen Hershberger says:

    I love this! You are right it is much more thought provoking. I had no idea you had this blog. I love the creative name.

  2. benedictamy@yahoo.com says:

    Seth, I love this. I wish my mis hear on Elton Johns song “Tiny Dancer” would have been as beneficial. Hold me close Tony Danza doesn’t quite make it better. Maybe a bit more scandalous, but not better.

  3. Wes Hershberger says:

    I too think the song is now improved. Great thought.

  4. sethink says:

    Thank you, dear siblings and loyal readers.
    Amy, isn’t Tony Danza an actual person? The name rings a bell.

Leave a Reply

